The course booklet found below, aims to give you details of all the subjects which will be available for your son/daughter to study when he/she enters Year 9. Studying GCSEs over a 3 year Key Stage 4 will help students to develop a wide range of knowledge and skills across the curriculum.

Due to the changing needs of our students, and government directives, we review our curriculum offer yearly so please do not assume that courses and pathways that were available to elder siblings will be the same for our current Year 8. All students will study the core subjects and will then take a further four optional subjects. All GCSE subjects will be graded according to the reformed 9-1 grading system with grade 4 equivalent to an old grade C and grade 7 equivalent to old grade A. BTEC and vocational courses are graded using the existing Distinction, Merit, Pass criteria, (with Distinction* for outstanding attainment).

All students will study the following subjects
English (2 outcomes)
Science (2 outcomes)
Physical Education
Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (through PSHCEE days)
History or Geography (or both if desired)

Students will then choose two other subjects to complete their GCSE subject profile. Full details of these subjects are found within the Options Booklet.

Year 8 Options Booklet

Can’t see the booklet? Click the button below to download a PDF.

Download the Year 8 Options Booklet Here